Where’s My Cookie Dough?

This is the sort of thing I do in history when we’re talking about people like Aquinas:

Given…

  1. I can conceive in my mind of the tastiest batch of cookie dough.
  2. Existence is tastier than non-existence.

Therefore, the Tastiest Batch of Cookie Dough must exist.

I think I’ve said that on Twitter in one form or another before, but I was just going over my notes and noticed it… along with some rant about Star Trek. I think that means I need to pay more attention in class?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by wazza on September 13, 2009 at 5:36 am

    I figured out a formulation of that argument which proves God can’t exist, but then I forgot it. Metaphysics classes do that to people.

  2. Posted by David on September 14, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    This doesn’t actually count against Aquinas. It’s quite a reasonable conclusion that (given agreement on a scale of tastiness) the tastiest cookie dough must exist at a given time. Of course it may not remain the tastiest, or have any other superlative properties.

  3. Posted by Funkopolis on September 17, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    I never really understood why people ever used that argument. Even if it did prove that God exists, it would immediately disprove the God of the Bible since I can easily imagine an even more perfect God who isn’t a complete shit.

  4. @David I think the miscommunication came from me not specifying I was referring to ultimate, absolute tastiness. Not relative tastiness. I hope you can see how that’s different.

Leave a Reply

