Can I “Borrow” This?

At the beginning of the school year, I asked my biology teacher if I could borrow his Planet Earth DVDs. He went ahead and let me take it home for the weekend and I never brought it back (actually I returned it to him today). This is because I have a huge crush on Sir David Attenborough (the real reason is that I just had no time to finish watching it and I didn’t want to give it back without seeing all of it).

Anyway, I remembered to give it back to him when I stumbled upon and old chat log from September which ended when I told my friend that I had to finish watching Planet Earth so I could give it back to my biology teacher. A quick glance at my Planet Earth calendar hanging on the wall told me that it was now May so I went ahead and posted that on Twitter like so:

Found a message dated 9/13/2008 that I sent to a friend saying that I need to return Planet Earth to my biology teacher soon. I never did.

Shortly after posting this I got several messages from three other Facebook friends telling their stories of how they “borrowed” something and never gave it back. Finding them too amusing to restrict to the confines of comments in my Facebook status message I decided to post them here for your enjoyment.

I have a stapler from the eighth grade.

On my last day at the middle school, one of the people in the office lent it to a group of us to make paper chains to decorate the cafeteria. Somehow, I got stuck with it at the end of the day, but the office was closed for the summer by the time that I got to it.

It’s sitting on my desk. I plan to keep it in my classroom whenever I start teaching. 😛

Katherine

My teacher once let me borrow a book about “divine suffering” or some such Catholic thing, along with some pamphlets about bread and wine turning into actual flesh and blood. She really needed them back eventually b/c they were precious to her, and irreplaceable.

Then Hurricane Katrina happened.

Jason

I stole a tenor recorder and a whole lot of library books when my primary school closed down. It wasn’t like they were going to be using them…

Wazza

Interesting stuff happens on Twitter sometimes.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Well at least you have excellent taste in things to borrow and forget to return. Planet Earth is awesome; I’ve watched it many times and I’m still astonished by the footage they captured.

    You should watch Attenborough’s Life series as well. It’s not quite as amazing as Planet Earth, but that’s kind of like saying that nine hundred thousand dollars isn’t quite as good as a million dollars.

  2. Posted by wazza on May 19, 2009 at 12:21 am

    “This is because I have a huge crush on Sir David Attenborough

    “Oh, David… that’s so… absolutely remarkable…”

  3. Oh, in my case, someone lent me a book on the case for God written by some guy named Strobel. I read a few chapters, and I thought it was rubbish. I didn’t have a chance to return it, though, and she moved into a different place, so I kept it. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

