Woah… I’m Young

So, I’ve been the laziest blogger ever and haven’t posted since February 25th. I decided to actually write something today letting you all know that it’s my 16th birthday. As usual, all that means is that I’ve made 16 trips around the sun in my present assemblage of organic matter…

But…

I’ve never realised before how small a number like 16 is. Only 16 trips around the sun. Damn, I feel insignificantly young. I mean, this planet has made at least 4 and a half billion trips around the sun, give or take a few hundred million.

You people reading my blog really don’t think I’m some naïve twat? And now that I’m one year older does this mean I don’t get to pass off my blogging laziness for my age?

Whatever. Go celebrate the birthday of Douglas Adams too. “Now there’s a frood who really knows where his towel is!”

23 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by w_nightshde on March 11, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Happy damn birthday!

  2. Why must you rub your youth in the faces of we old people? I still shudder when I think about the fact that a friend of mine told me she met her husband on the internet. When they were in jr. high.

    Before this turns into a “back in my day…” comment, let me just say that I am more than twice your age, yet I still love playing with toys, dressing up in costumes, acting silly with my kids and generally wondering when I’ll grow up.

  3. Happy Happy Birthday!

    I haven’t posted anything since the 5th…of February (at least it was this year). I can claim laziness because of my advanced age…and because nothing interesting ever happen to me worth blogging about.

  4. Posted by Rev. Reed Braden on March 11, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    You people reading my blog really don’t think I’m some twat?

    Well, you’re not exactly naïve…

  5. Posted by Al on March 11, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    Many happy returns on your sixteenth orbit 😉

    Don’t let those mere whippersnappers who are but twice your years put you off ageing: it surely beats the alternative!

    You couldn’t have picked a hoopier frood to share an anniversary with; my favourite quote is

    “I love deadlines. I particularly like the whooshing sound they make as they go past…”

  6. Happy Birthday!

    Sometimes I wish I was still mostly , nope.

  7. That should have read:

    Happy Birthday!

    Sometimes I wish I was still 16 but mostly , nope.

    (Sheesh)

  8. […] joven autora del Weblog “Splendid Elles”, también […]

  9. Posted by kayla_unkempt on March 11, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    You think you’re young? Please, I won’t be 16 until November…

    Happy Birthday!

  10. Happy 16th birthday! ^_^
    (wow, I am already old, 18, time flies when you get older, you know)

  11. Happy Birthday!

    I can call you naïve because I’m a whopping 3 months older! So there!

    *cough*

  12. Posted by wazza on March 12, 2009 at 12:56 am

    funny thing is, 16 or 18 or 20 seems small compared to the universe… but it still makes me feel old to realise I’ll be 21 in July…

  13. Happy birthday!

    (For the record, I’m twenty-five, my hair is going grey, ordering cocktails at a bar is old hat, and every time I get stuck on the subway with a crowd of rowdy teenagers, I wonder when exactly they became Those Kids These Days.)

  14. There was a moment there I wondered if I was to be the oldest commenter at a whopping 23 years of age. Thankfully at least two others of more advanced years have stepped in to make me look young and dynamic.

    Elles, you could never be less than Splendid. A very happy birthday to you.

  15. Posted by exarch on March 12, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    So I knew you had to be young (for being a junior skepchick and all) but you’re still way younger than you appeared through your comments.

    That’s a compliment in there somewhere. Trust me.

    Happy birthday.

  16. A very splendid birthday to you, young whippersnapper.

  17. Posted by Insapory on March 13, 2009 at 4:00 am

    Well, it seems I’ve missed it. Oh well, a late happy birthday to you.

  18. Happy birthday! Turns out, according to my very complex calculations, that I’m exactly one year and four days older than you. Haha, I have wisdom on my side. Neener neener.

  19. Posted by Aoi on March 16, 2009 at 1:37 am

    Happy b-day. Do you calculate by solar or sidereal year? And do you realize that the atoms and molecules in your body are by and large quite recent, and not the ones you had a year (or five or ten) ago? Here’s hoping you enjoy may more trips around the sun, always with towel on hand.

  20. Happy (late) birthday!

    And no, you can’t pass off laziness for your age anymore.

  21. Posted by Christian Treczoks on March 16, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    A very happy birthday to a girl that has greater wisdom at 16 than most people have at 60.

  22. Posted by carrotplease on March 17, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    Happy Birthday 🙂

    One of the reasons I love your blog so much is that it’s super nice to know there are some really intelligent and interesting young people out there. So many of the ones I meet these days seem more concerned with how many texts they get on a daily basis.

    🙂

  23. I’m always late everywhere I go. Happy Birthday a few days ago.

    Enjoy it while you can. You won’t believe how fast time goes by.

Leave a Reply

