Pistachios!

I’m not the only one who can’t stop eating pistachios once I start, right? I dunno, there’s just something about the aftertaste that makes me want more with each one I pop into my mouth. Soon you’re at the bottom of the bag and the world comes crashing down upon you.

Luckily, one night after eating my way through a can of Russian pistachios and feeling empty after running out, OhNuts! graciously offered to send me three types of pistachios for me to review on my blog. I accepted, and then had to study for high school finals, but now that all that is out of the way I’m going to tell you what I thought of them.

The first pistachios were the Turkish Antep Pistachios. These pistachios are smaller than normal pistachios, and harder to open, but they definitely have a unique flavour. I guess this sounds sort of odd but they’ve got an  after-taste that’s sort of like sunflower seeds. They were stolen from me before I could get to the bottom of the bag. 😀

More like your standard pistachios were the Roasted Salted Pistachios. These are the kind that I most easily get into the habit of eating continually until I’m at the bottom of the bag. They’re just so good. The bag is huge too. Luckily I haven’t managed to run out yet but they’re nice, and big, and easy to open.

But, by far the tastiest type of pistachios I have ever encountered were the Chili-Lemon Pistachios. I had known that you could marinate pistachios in stuff before, but chili and lemon was just a phenomenal combination. If it’s possible to get an explosion of flavour in your mouth from nuts, you’ll get it from these. It makes sense, of course. Chili tastes great. Lemon tastes great. Pistachios taste great. Need I say more?

Of course, they’re pretty spicy so it’s harder to fall into the habit of continually popping pistachios into my mouth. Is that a good thing?

Oh! And apparently you can use them to make baklava!

Mmm… I’m going to need more soon.

2 responses to this post.

  1. “If it’s possible to get an explosion of flavour in your mouth from nuts, you’ll get it from these.”

    I went to a very bad place with this line. Very bad.

  2. LOL, Kimbo!!

    I got so addicted to green chile pistachios when I was in New Mexico. The spiciness somehow didn’t slow me down.

Leave a Reply

