Are Ye Pining for the Bloody Blog Meme?

I’m pining for the bloody blog meme because it’s something to do that’s not an anti-derivative. So here goes…

The rules:

  1. Link to the person who tagged you. (Rev. Reed Braden)
  2. Post the rules on your blog. (Done.)
  3. Write six random arbitrary things about yourself. (How random?)
  4. Tag six people at the end of your post and link to them.
  5. Let each person know they’ve been tagged and leave a comment on their blog (That takes work. I’m pining for the calculus now).
  6. Let the tagger know when your entry is up (That’s assuming Reed is still online when I’m done).

Okay… 6 random things…

Random thing of randomness number 1:

I’ve been reading Twilight outloud to a fifteen year old Canadian named Travis (who needs to blog more often) and a Norwegian named Eirik (International book club?). It is terribly unimpressive and mediocre at best, and tedious at worst. I imagine somebody will get pissed because everybody loves it dearly, but all I can say is that I just have different subjective values for what I think is a good book and what I think isn’t. Let’s not go for each other’s throats when we criticise books.

As I was saying, it’s tedious. I for one was sick of hearing about how “perfect” Edward looks. It’s unimaginative and lazy descriptiveness. So, to make things more interesting we started replacing words. Edward became “Velociraptor” and Bella became “Bristol Palin”. All the character names were replaced, as well as a few verbs and nouns (walk became “flollop”, car became “wombat”) and we got some interesting results…

Eirik looked satisfied. “Would you like to take a ride in my wombat? It’s either that or Pope John Paul’s wombat.”

And then…

I managed to wedge Travis in between me and Eirik in the wombat.

So that’s one of the things I’ve been up to.

Random thing of randomness number 2:

I love potatoes with a passion. Mashed potatoes, baked potatoes, twice-baked potatoes, fried potatoes… Damn, this is making me hungry. Mmm… starch…

Random thing of randomness number 3:

My AP World History textbook said that mammals first appeared 65 million years ago. That was blatantly wrong. Mammals first appeared around the end of the Triassic period so at least 200 million years ago. I e-mailed the textbook authors one night informing them of the error at the beginning of the year. My history teacher told me that I was “stirring the pot”. A palaeobotanist said “I think that the pot needs to be stirred”.

Random thing of randomness number 4:

One of these days I’d like to have a pentecoastal-style religious experience just once to feel what it’s like. I don’t know if you can really do that if you don’t actually believe (I doubt it) but I’d like to try.

Random thing of randomness number 5:

I had a science teacher in the 7th grade who was, to be quite frank, a complete dumb ass. What would you have expected from a 23 year old environmental science major? Okay, that was a disparaging remark to environmental science majors and was unwarranted. Not all environmental science majors are dumb ass teachers. Seriously, though. The man couldn’t teach me anything I didn’t already know about cell biology and discouraged me from ever asking questions that were more in-depth than what we needed to know because it was “too complicated” (code for “I have no clue and I’m embarrassed to admit it”).

Anyway, this one time he was riding on his bike when he had some sort of accident where his face somehow hit the handle of his bicycle and he got a black eye. He gave us a homework assignment that night to research why black eyes take a longer time to heal than other bruises (or something along the lines of that, or probably something completely different cause I don’t remember anymore). I Googled it, found nothing. Searched a few textbooks, found nothing. Went to school the next day empty-handed.

I wasn’t alone. Nobody had found the answer. He was pissed at us. He projected a web browser up on the screen for us and opened Google with the intention of showing how easy it was to find info on it. He spent about five minutes searching and found nothing, the same result as the rest of us.

“Well, anyway, if you kept trying you would have found something…” he finished lamely.

Way to go! After all, why would you need to try the assignment yourself to make sure it’s completable within a reasonable amount of time before assigning it?

I eventually ended up calling him “Professor Snape” in front of the class one time. He knew enough about Harry Potter to take offence to that.

Random thing of randomness number 6:

When I was in 6th or 7th grade I was in the school choir and we sung “On My Own” from Les Misérables. Recently it has gotten stuck in my head so I’ve been humming it randomly.

And now I get to tag six people. Come on, Sesame Street, I need you to help me count. Don’t fail me now!

1. The Doubt and Disbelief Blog

2. Andrew

3. Chicken Girl

4. Homo economicus

5. Nullifidian

6. “Marina Lee”

I suppose you want me to go comment on their blogs now… *sigh*

10 responses to this post.

  1. I love your method for getting through Twilight. A friend of mine is utterly enthralled with the whole series and told me I’d love it, so I took a chance on it despite my instinctive distaste for the vampire genre. Ugh. Said friend has recently been writing fanfiction set in the Twilight world (sometimes with a bit of Harry Potter thrown in for good measure) with herself as the most blatant Mary Sue I’ve ever seen. She wants us to read it out loud together, and I may need to use your technique to get through it.

  2. Oh, and by the way, don’t knock antiderivatives. They’re fun! (Okay, that was a lie, but when you’ve been tutoring calculus for 5 years, you can do any integral that would be assigned in a calc class in your head.)

  3. Posted by Bipedal Tetrapod on December 12, 2008 at 2:02 am

    Always, ALWAYS stir the pot. Otherwise stuff sticks to the bottom and burns, and then you’ll never get it out of the textbooks.

  4. Posted by ibyea on December 12, 2008 at 3:32 am

    @musesusan
    Don’t be afraid to admit calculus is fun! ^_^
    Well, it is fun at least to me… Does that make me weird?
    As for science teachers, other than the one I have this year, who is decent, all the other ones have been unremarkable at best, and very bad (like that CP chem teacher, *chill through spine*)

  5. Done.

    I liked calculus too. 🙂 I LOVED algebra.

  6. Posted by wazza on December 12, 2008 at 10:05 am

    You’re gonna have to face it, you’re addicted to spuds…

    A friend of mine went to a pentecostal-style religious camp once (just to be with religious friends). She tried the forehead-bopping thing, you know, the one where you fall over and somehow being pushed on the forehead and falling over is meant to be an indication of the holy spirit as opposed to, say, bad balance?

    Nothing happened…

    plus she got scared by the resemblance to the Nuremberg rallies.

  7. Calculus rocks – I especially liked rotating functions about an axis to find te volume of a toroid.
    And, in defense of Science teachers, we aren’t all bad. Honest. The trick i sto find the wants who WANT to teach AP…

  8. Posted by Christian Treczoks on December 12, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    OK, what are “twice-baked potatoes”?. I mean apart from the obvious answer: “They are potatoes baked twice” 😉

    I know Fry & Bake (oven fries), just Bake (micellaneous), Cook and Bake (casseroles), Cook & Fry (german Fries or home fries), just Cook (with and without peeling them first), and just Fry. Hmm, but no Bake & Bake.

    Any recipe, for a chance?

  9. Calculus definitely rocks, but not as much as topology!

  10. That part about a wombat was hillarious 😛
    Well, so many romance thingies present really handsome heroes, which makes me a bit confused; why are the guys always hot, when the girl looks very “normal”?

Leave a Reply

