One Year Ago Today…

I Am Great

Egotistic, yes. But come on… It’s good for my self-esteem. You wouldn’t want to take away my self-esteem, would you?

One year ago today I made my first steps out into the blogosphere.

I was once asked why I started blogging and being the truthful person that I am I said “because all my friends were doing it.” Of course, as soon as the words leave my mouth I realise that they sound sort of stupid.

But that sort of is the reason why I did it. Back in the days when there was a chat room on RichardDawkins.net, there were a few people in there who had their own blogs like Reed Braden. I would always click the links they posted and one day I decided to try it out for myself.

I opened up the WordPress homepage, signed up for a blog, found the username “Elles” already taken so I thought… what can I add to “Elles” to get a username I can use for this blog? I chose the word splendid.

Splendid is… well… a splendid word. I loved the way my tongue felt as I rolled it over the “splen” and added on the “did”. I loved what the word “splendid” meant. It just seemed like one of the more awesome words in the English language. So, that’s what I tacked on before “Elles” and created the blog “Splendid Elles”.

This had come soon after my first secularism conference where I had met Richard Dawkins and shortly thereafter e-mailed him and gotten a reply back (!!!) and I was still gloating about it to all my friends in the chat (having few other people I could gloat about it to). I decided that since my only readers would probably be people I linked my posts to in the chat I would do a sort of tongue-in-cheek post for them about how great I was to sort of poke fun at myself for still gloating about it.

If you choose to read it, don’t take the more egotistical bits too seriously, although the excerpt from the e-mail I got from Richard Dawkins is genuine.

I posted it after 12:00 am GMT, not knowing that wordpress was on GMT and so it would technically be posted on the 22nd of November when I hit the “Publish” button (I have since figured out how to set the time to fit my time zone but have been too lazy to do so) so anybody looking at the post will think my first day blogging was on November 22, 2007, but it’s not. It was November 21, 2007 (when I publish this it will probably be November 22, 2008 anyway but meh).

One year ago today…

I’ve learned a lot in that one year. I think I shall share that knowledge, knowledge which has varying levels of profundity.

  1. There are a lot of amazing people on the Internet who also take part in the tradition of blogging. I am proud to call them my “blogging-buddies.”
  2. There are a lot of trolls out there who seem to want nothing more than to completely misrepresent your words and use that as an excuse to fill lengthy comments with ad hom. Other bloggers tell me I should ignore them instead of responding publicly… I guess I don’t listen most of the time.
  3. That said, not everybody is a troll because they disagree with you. That, of course, would be absurd. I have the capacity to be wrong, and sometimes I am just like everybody else. I’m always grateful when they tell me so that I don’t continue going around spreading ignunce.
  4. No matter what, somebody will always misunderstand you and be unhappy with what you write.
  5. Even when I’ve accepted this fact it still bothers me when they blatantly misrepresent my words.
  6. Typing is extremely therapeutic. Who needs aromatherapy when you can type out a post debunking creationist claims and get stress relief?
  7. There is nothing wrong with elitism in and of itself, but there are a lot of people with elitist attitudes who take great pride in their willful ignorance. Likewise, there are a lot of “people of faith” who are elitists in the same fashion.
  8. People who are “like-minded” disagree a lot. I’ve learned this well from reading the works of others in the “Atheist blogosphere”.
  9. I can do block quotes! Squee!
  10. And last but not least, people are really, really, really obsessed with a certain Oxford professor and a certain Harry Potter actress.

So I suppose… Onward, then, me and my readers into the vast tracts of barren knowledge I have yet to explore at my tender age. Let us see how much wincing I shall do when I look back at my posts in another year to see how little I must know right  now… But let us hope that I am at least mostly right about what I write.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by LaRae Meadows on November 22, 2008 at 12:23 am

    Oh yeah, one year. You’re old pro now!

  2. I just had my blogversary too! That’s awesome. Typing is totally therapeutic – especially on my new MacBook. I lurve the keyboard!

  3. my blogoversary was nov 8…it’s skeptic blog month!

  4. Posted by wazza on November 22, 2008 at 4:50 am

    that is a most excellent milestone to pass

    tillyke!

  5. Posted by ibyea on November 22, 2008 at 5:00 am

    Hey, I wonder if making a blogpost just repeating those names will get me more traffic? ^_^

  6. A much more important anniversary than that other trivial occurrence that happened on November 22 … 😉

  7. Congratulations on your blogiversary! Splendid!

  8. Posted by Ickle-Icky-kins on November 25, 2008 at 3:59 pm

    Fantabelaktig! I believe congargulations are in order?

  9. One day after my birthday, hmmm? Should be memorable (to me).

    I started a blog. Only made it two post, one that I really liked. I’m two addicted to message boards and atheist fora (the proper plural of “forum,” which Spell Check does not recognize; civilization is over) to keep up with a blog of my own.

    Anyway, I’m going to be 1-of-a-kind, and be the one person in the universe who DOESN’T have a blog!

    But I like yours, “Elles.” Rock on.

    ~Jeanette M. Norman

  10. Aaaarrrrgggghhhh. Typos and misspellings! “I only made it two POSTS… I’m TOO addicted to message boards…”

    In my defense, I’m drunk off my ass. Wait, is that a defense?

    Never mind.

    Unsigned, anonymous, you will never figure out who I am. LOL

    ~Jeanette

  11. Yes I agree with you!

Leave a Reply

