Memes and Things

Ah! Tagged by a meme!

Can You Remember The Day That You Officially Became An Atheist?

Eh… I think my real moment of realising that god is some pretty silly stuff is the day that Columbine happened. I had always been taught that god was benevolent and protected us you see. When I realised that such bad things could happen I felt less protected.

Do you remember the day you officially became an agnostic?

No. I went through a phase of agnosticism during the third and fourth grades when I prayed on math tests. It didn’t really work well and I eventually shifted back into Atheism. I’m still technically an agnostic, of course…

How about the last time you spoke or prayed to God with actual thought that someone was listening?

The fourth grade.

Did anger towards God or religion help cause you to be an atheist or agnostic?

Anger? I was kind of annoyed with the idea that if you didn’t believe in god for 60 years or so you’d go to Hell for an eternity. Now that just didn’t seem fair. 60 years? That’s really really really really really small compared to eternity.

Here is a good one: Were you agnostic towards ghosts, even after you became an atheist?

Me: Do you have books about real ghosts?

Librarian: I’m not sure real ghosts exist, but I’ll look. Oh look, there are books about real ghosts.

Me: Yay! Now I can figure out what they are.

A little while later I read a sensible book about the paranormal which had this radical notion of offering alternative explanations to phenomena. Gasp!

Do you want to be wrong?

Not that it has any bearing on reality… But damn it, there are scary things out there in the universe. Humanity is so close to extinguishing its own light that… well, I wish there was somebody or something out there to keep that from happening.

Other times, do I want something or somebody that has total control over the universe and can read my every thought?

It depends on which level of cynicism I’m currently occupying.

Right then… are you ready to get tagged?

Here I go!

Homo economicus

Metro-State Atheists

Intrinsically Knotted

Mindcore

And… Atheist Girls

6 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for the memeory.

  2. […] Splendid Elles (right) tagged me to answer these series of questions. […]

  3. Ooh, I think I forgot to do the last meme you tagged me for. I’ll definitely do this one tonight!

  4. Posted by ibyea on October 18, 2008 at 5:52 am

    You know, I don’t think that if you become atheist from Christian, you can attribute it to one day. At least I can’t. It felt more like a process, and it took me one month to completely turn around my world view.

  5. […] been tagged by Splendid Elles, and now also by Metro State Atheists, to do this meme, and since I forgot to do the last one Elles […]

Leave a Reply

