50,000th View Party!

Dear Readers,

Thanks to those who are stalking Richard Dawkins and Emma Watson, this blog has finally hit the milestone of 50,000 views!

Woohoo!

50,000 people have at least given this blog a passing glance. That makes me feel… special… ish…

Anyway, I think that this is splendid, and it comes just a few months before this blog’s first birthday. Over 50,000 views in one year. That’s… pretty significant… to me.

I never thought that this blog would actually get that much attention, or any kind of attention at all apart from my friends. I was just sort of using it as a way to take whatever anger I had out on the keyboard (and it really did work well as a stress-reliever), or when I had a great joy to share and I wanted to shout it out to the world… But when I got views from people searching for things like “Intelligent Design” I started actually thinking that maybe, just maybe this blog would make a difference in the intellects of at least some people with their exposure to my ideas and opinions.

And indeed a lot of people have said that I’ve inspired them in some way. Humans easily fall prey to pessimism when it comes to the younger generations and I can totally understand how a thinking teenager could give people hope. I wouldn’t give up on my teen companions, we all know that I’m not the only one of them who reads science books.

I’ve also had people tell me that it was in part because of what I’ve written on this blog the reason why they’ve enrolled in a biology class or gotten more interested in science. From my blog many others have been inspired to start blogging themselves, something which I encourage for I find it a refreshing exercise of free speech.

It’s little things like that that keeps me afloat with the hope that we’re not all going to fall into the black hole of scientific illiteracy and anti-intellectualism.

Also, as I continue the process of growing up and gaining wisdom I’ve come to disagree with some of the things I’ve said on here, I’ve come to realize my ignunce, and I feel a little embarassed for it but a little glad that I am able to notice my mistakes. I’ll probably rectify these errors when I’m not running around doing homework and stuff.

If you see me say something ignunt tell me, please, so that I don’t go around spreading my ignunce and making myself into an ignunt fool. That is, after all, why I leave comments on when I could turn them off and go on blabbing. Please be constructive in your criticisms and keep ad hom to a minimum (and you know who you are if you don’t).

I love all of my readers, and I love my blog. Keep viewing, keep commenting, keep e-mailing, and keep doing whatever it is that readers do.

Love,

Elles

P.S. Travis doesn’t blog as often as he should (meaning his last post was in July), but I’m sorry to inform you all that his search for proof of the existence of unicorns has continued to be fruitless.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Way too long a post self-congratulating yourself.
    πŸ˜›

  2. Oh Roy…

    If you have a problem with me being self-congratulatory… Well… you could buy me another pint of ice cream just because? πŸ™‚

  3. I definitely would :)And don’t forget the carrots.

  4. Hey… I was promised Splenda. Where’s my fake sugar?!

  5. Well congratulations! I really enjoy reading your blog although I don’t comment much, and I hope you’ll keep it up for a long time!

  6. ZOMG IT’S OVER NINE THOUSAND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Uh, congratulations. πŸ™‚

  7. Excuse me… we were led to believe that there would be punch and pie?

  8. Posted by metrostateatheists on October 9, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    We should celebrate

  9. Congratulations!

    Remember thou art mortal … πŸ™‚

    For your 250,000 hopefully we can all go down to the pub – though if that happens quickly you may have to come over to Britain for the celebrations.

  10. yeah, at the same view rate she might not be old enough even in Europe, though that certainly didn’t stop me when I was over there at 17…

    I know a great little hole-in-the-wall pub in Copenhagen that doesn’t ID and doesn’t play music, so you can hear yourself think.

    Plus, at any Splendid Elles party, there must be no ID!

    πŸ˜›

  11. Huh, maybe I should post something about Emma Watson and Richard Dawkins, too bring all the stalkers and weirdos to my blog too. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

