Bad News, “Bad” News

Which do you want first? The bad news or the “bad” news?

I’ll give you the bad news first.

It has been circulated around in the blogosphere that the Blue Collar Scientist has passed away. ‘Tis a great shame that we have lost a defender of reason in the blogosphere and it is also worthy to note that I forgot to thank him for the kind words he once said of me.

However, I’ve now found the best blog entry every written about the topic, bar none. The post is by a DMNS volunteer who has dealt with these whackjobs in person.

(Oh, also, the author is fifteen years old. The main thing about blogging that I learn from this is that I’m doing it wrong.)

Cripes, stop reading my stuff, and get over there and read it, already.

Seriously.

Read it all.

No, you weren’t doing it wrong, but the way you were doing it will be sorely missed.

Now for the other bit of “bad” news. The Bad Astronomer is now the president of the JREF!

James Randi has offered me the position of President of the James Randi Educational Foundation. I am extraordinarily honored, and I have accepted this duty.

Wow. Just writing that seems incredible to me.

Just reading that astonished me.

I’ve always told my parents that if I die a pre-mature death (hopefully that won’t happen) I want them to donate whatever money they have saved up for my college to three organizations: The Center For Inquiry, the Richard Dawkins Foundation for Reason and Science, and the James Randi Educational Foundation (CFI, RDF, and JREF respectively). They’re three superb organizations which I intend to support strongly in the eventuality that I get a job and a source of income.

And now Phil’s the president of JREF! That is so freaking cool! It’s like Richard Dawkins on Doctor Who!

Congrats, Phil!

3 responses to this post.

  1. That explains the silence on his blog feed. 😦

  2. “It’s like Richard Dawkins on Doctor Who!”

    Next, PZ Myers will show up on BSG and kick some cylon ass…

  3. Wow — a teen who’s openly atheist! Good for you — when I was your age people who were openly atheistic were rare to find, and teen atheists almost impossible to find.

Leave a Reply

