For the Record

This is just a comment which I left on Friendly Atheist which I feel summarizes my personal feelings about Thrawn’s “Piss Off the Catholics Month.”

Because of the whole co-author situation, there has been some confusion in the past over who was posting what on my blog. For the record, “Piss Off the Catholics Month” was Thrawn’s idea, not mine.

I believe that it is our right to offend people, however, I think that in this case offense should be caused indirectly. Instead of actively trying to insult Catholics directly we should just do what Atheists normally do and if that offends them then that’s their problem.

I do support the idea of obtaining communion wafers and not eating them if only to assert the fact that we do not have to bow to their dogma. During the Civil Rights movement, blacks had to go out of their way to break segregation laws to make a point about them. We may need to go out of our way to break laws which claim that taking a cracker and not eating it is a hate crime. If Atheists continue receiving death threats for that then our point is simply being made for us.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by blaisepascal on July 13, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Thank you for the clarification about who’s idea the “Piss Of The Catholics” plan was.

    However, I feel I must voice an objection to any encouragement of people stealing consecrated communion wafers from a Catholic Church, either by force or by fraud. Presenting oneself to receive communion (and thus get the “cracker”) is effectively making a representation that you are baptized, not prohibited by (canon) law, not excommunicated, not “obstinately persevering in manifest grave sin”, and is not conscious of grave sin without sacramental confession. If I were to present myself to get a consecrated communion wafer, I would be attempting fraud because I am not baptized, probably persevering in manifest grave sin, and have never been to confession.

    Anyone in a similar position could not get a consecrated communion wafer without theft through misrepresentation. That isn’t the type of law I think it worth violating to overturn. Comparing it to discrimination laws of the Jim Crow era shows a complete lack of scale.

    Of course, death threats are out of line, and may in fact rise to the level of criminal prosecution (against those who make the threats).

  2. What if I’m an ordained reverend of the Universal Life Church and baptized myself? 😛

  3. Sigh. You said exactly what I was trying to say in my last two blog posts, with much better economy of words, AND more clearly.

  4. it is very helpful.. thanks.

  5. Posted by jaded_facade on July 14, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    It’s times like this when it would be helpful to have a better word then absurd to describe these people. How someone can say, and with a straight face mind you, that they actually believe that a cracker undergoes any kind of transformation is….hmm…trying to think of a nice way of saying insane…can’t think of one.

    Really, maybe we should be thanking these crazy Christians for making this an issue, and providing us with a perfect example of religous hypocrisy. Honestly, you couldn’t make this shit up, it’s that good.

  6. So, I’ve been thinking about this a little. A month ago, atheists were offended by the Kieffe and Sons Ford ad which ended by telling atheists to “sit down and shut up”. A tidal wave of the offended eventually led to the owner of the dealership apologizing…although it was really a non-apology.

    Now I’m trying to figure out if desecration of a religious holy symbol is on the same level. Atheists don’t really have something that can be desecrated. Oh, I suppose they can have a book burning, but I think the general reaction would be a resounding “meh”. Atheists might say “Catholics are idiots” or “All Christians should sit down and shut up” – that would certainly be on par with the Kieffe ad.

    What would our reaction be if they lopped the head off of Darwin’s statue? Or, now that atheist burials with symbol are allowed in Arlington National Cemetery, suppose some religious nuts spray painted the markers with graffiti? Again, I’m not sure it’s the same as doing whatever to a cracker, but I can see how it will be offensive (though not enough to warrant a “Jesus Held Hostage” headline!)

    I think I need to give it a little more thought.

Leave a Reply

