Veto SB733

I do believe that I mentioned last week that Louisiana passed its anti-evolution bill, SB 733, the text of which you can find here. Well, there’s one last chance and that’s to get the governor of Louisiana to veto it. You can type up a nice little e-mail here. Be polite, by the way! Here’s the polite e-mail I sent him.

Dear Governor Jindal,

I am a 15 year-old  high school student and college student (I’m both at the same time, it’s complicated) in Colorado who is concerned about bill SB733.

I read the text of the bill a few months ago, and I think that it’s a jolly good thing to have students exercise critical thinking when examining ALL scientific theories, but the fact that the bill specifically mentions evolution, origins of life, climate change and human cloning raises the red flag that it’s a sneaky way of getting politics and religion into the science classroom.

Granted, the theory of the origin of life isn’t complete (though what we know so far does make it seem highly probable that it was an entirely natural process), there is some speculation over how much of climate change is caused by us, and I would be in favor of a discussion over ethics in science, but evolution is accepted as a fact.

The only alternative theory I’d suspect students to be taught would be Intelligent Design which was already ruled to be religion and unconstitutional by the Supreme Court, and does not present data anyway.

When I found out that the Discovery Institute was sponsoring the bill, that only made the red flags even more prominent.

Either way, even if there were any real scientific controversy over evolution, it wouldn’t be settled in the science classroom. It would go through rigorous testing, peer-reviewed journals, and all that stuff that real scientists do until there were enough evidence to back it up. Then it would be taught in schools. Not the other way around.

To put it in a nut shell (you must be a busy man and perhaps I should just have put it in a nut shell first), it’s obvious what this bill is intended to do: wiggle religion and politics into public school science education. I wouldn’t call that very high science education standards. I hope you will understand why this ought to be vetoed.

Thank you so very much for your time, and have a splendid day.

I think I should have ended it with “bunnies” or something, actually.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Frank on June 19, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Very good and very polite e-mail. I hope he actually reads e-mails

  2. Prolly a good idea with the anti-evolution bill. I can’t think of a better way to prevent more hurricanes.

    🙂

  3. Posted by Peace Makes Plenty on June 20, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    Concise and polite, i wonder what the reply will be?

Leave a Reply

