I’m Not Proud to be Human Right Now

Dedicated to all my gay friends.

So, here I am in my aerospace camp (we learn about aerospace engineering and make stuff like circuits and rockets) and a group of black boys who were forced to go there by their parents were talking about gays and how much they hate them.

“Wow…” I said. “You do realize that about 150 years ago your ancestors were in slavery because they had a different skin colour.”

They acted like I was just stating the obvious. “No! I had no idea…” they said sarcastically.

“Well, here you are, 50 years after the Civil Right’s movement and you’re discriminating against somebody because they’re different.”

“So?”

No, I don’t mean to say that all blacks are hypocrites. Homophobia is found in whites just as much as blacks as well as acceptance of gays. It has nothing to do with skin colour. But the Civil Right’s movement should have taught us all a lesson. The Civil Right’s movement should have taught us that just because somebody is different doesn’t mean we have to hate them.

What kind of a person hates another person because of their personal sexual preferences?

This is why I’m not proud to be human right now. We get discriminated against for our differences, initiate change to make that better, and then go back to discriminating against a new minority.

Reason save us all.

7 responses to this post.

  1. I gave up on humanity years ago. They’re not worth the effort. Save the Pacific Northwest Tree Octopus! XD

  2. It pains me very much to see the level of hate within some people. I cannot abide by any discrimination based on sex or sexuality. It simply isn’t relevant, outside of the physical act of pro-creation. As I’m done making babies, I fail to see what my sexuality has to do with anything else in my life.

  3. Posted by TimGundrum on June 18, 2008 at 2:13 am

    People really suck sometimes. Pretty sad really.

  4. Posted by Rowan on June 18, 2008 at 2:22 am

    “People; what a bunch of assholes.” – The IT Crowd

  5. *shakes head* It makes me sad and sick and angry, all at the same time. I don’t understand people, and for the most part, I don’t want to. I’m firmly in your camp on this one, Elles.

  6. People come in all sizes and we’re inbred with thousands of years of social conditioning. Blacks were discriminated against, but, many now feel its okay to discriminate against others because “it was done to them”.

    The best way to do it is to keep educating the way you did, sooner or later or more likely MUCH later, enough people will “get it”.

    Stonewall was only 40 years ago and now, gay marriage is just around the corner in many states.

    It took the Chinese longer than that to be able to get married in the United States. Shoot, Loving vs VA was less than 60 years ago….

    Keep working on us humans…we’re adaptable.

  7. Posted by Sergei on June 18, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    There was post just “leaked out” on bad astronomy blog about the subject. Strange trend in science blogging. Anyway, I’m totally support your point of view.

Leave a Reply

