My Fault

This is why insane people like me should be kept off of the Internet. In the RichardDawkins.net forum, Stella started a thread asking “Would Professor Dawkins ever consider appearing on Oprah?”

I know that Oprah is a New Age charlatan pusher, but consider the reach of her influence, and the size of her audience. I think Professor Dawkins’s polite, well-spoken approach might at least cause a little spark of reason in the minds of some of those millions of people (mostly women, mostly religious).

I don’t know if Dawkins would ever even consider such a thing, or if Oprah would have him on.

Richard Dawkins himself replied within minutes.

Of course I would. My publishers would murder me if I didn’t. The problem is to get invited.
Richard
And I just couldn’t help myself…
Letter writing campaign? It can’t be too hard to flood her inbox with e-mails.
I posted a query in the Richard Dawkins group, asking if there had ever been any talk about him appearing on the Oprah Winfrey Show: viewtopic.php?f=14&t=45556

Professor Dawkins said, “Of course I would. My publishers would murder me if I didn’t. The problem is to get invited.”

If you’d like to see him on the show, which would definitely increase the profile of atheism in “middle America”, please send an email to the show’s producers at: http://www2.oprah.com/email/reach/email_showideas.jhtml

I realize that the type of “spirituality’ Oprah usually focuses on is anathema to most of us here, and that it is unlikely he would be invited to appear, since her audience is comprised mainly of middle-class, female, American theists who would necessarily be offended by Oprah appearing to “endorse” atheism in any way. But it is undeniable that the current media climate is conducive to an increased presence of atheist viewpoints, as evidenced by recent appearances by Dawkins, as well as Hitchens, Dennet, Harris, Hirsi Ali, etc. on a wide variety of programs. There is a lot of talk about the “New Atheists” – I think, if approached the right way, Oprah and her producers might realize this topic has a lot of “good television” potential, and that Professor Dawkins, who is so well-spoken, accessible, and polite, would be a great guest.

Now, I don’t know how productive an appearance on Oprah would really be for the Professor, but the idea of putting Dawkins on with the Queen of Woo Woo Talkshows is simply too amusing to ignore. You can help make my day!
7 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks! I would just LOVE to see this happen.

  2. I know Stella! She is awesome.

    Dawkins would definitely be great on Oprah – maybe he’ll have an “ah-ha moment”!

    I’m officially joining the campaign.

  3. Posted by super-wishin on May 22, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    What about Ayaan Hirsi Ali, she stands for womens rights across the globe and that audience could relate to her much better. Get a young guy like Sam Harris in there also, they would pay attention when he spoke. I would post this on RD.net but at work. I’m a BA straggler, I like what you’re doing here.

  4. I don’t have a TV, but be sure to write a post about his (hopefull) appearance on Oprah when it happens, so that I can catch bits of it on YouTube.

  5. Posted by carrotplease on May 23, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    There is definitely something very amusing about this idea. Perhaps it’s just that the lady next to me at work is an Oprah addict, and goes on and on and on about religion and spirituality all day. Imagining her implosion when Dawkins shows up on Oprah is deliciously satisfying…

  6. Somehow the whole idea is incredibly amusing…I’m in!

    My mom loves Oprah…whenever I deign to watch it with her my reaction is somewhere between thinking she’s an idiot/prep/weird/hilarious. Some of the stuff they buy into on that show is almost as funny as Lewis Black.

  7. Posted by Juliana on May 26, 2008 at 7:38 pm

    I enjoy some of her human interest stories, but really, she does pay too much ‘lip’ to a lot of nonsense.To be honest, her ‘spirituality’ often sounds as being the case for consumerism: “Just buy this book and follow instructions and you’ll be great!”

    The question is: Would her Scientology friends object?

Leave a Reply

