Absurdity

And I thought that I had heard all the absurdity it was possible to hear in one day.

[T]he Academic Freedom bill, as it’s known, says teachers can’t be discriminated against for teaching ideas contrary to the theory of evolution.

I’m sorry, but if a child of Christian parents came home from an astronomy class one day rambling about how Pisces are more connected with “the 6th sense” than Capricorns, the Christian parents (who probably don’t think too highly of that pagan stuff) would be calling out for blood.

I don’t religiously dislike astrologers (I despise them for the right reasons), but I would want that teacher fired too.

I’m sorry, but we live in America, and though the public school system sucks, it is a public school system. It’s funded and run by the government (no real mystery as to why it sucks anymore, eh) and the government has something that it has to follow called a constitution.

constitution

Now, in this constitution, there is something called the “separation between church and state” which means that the government can’t teach religion in schools. Public school teachers are perfectly entitled to believe whatever they want about evolution, but they can’t teach religion because… that’s their job.

Gosh darn it, if a teacher taught the kids about chakras, the same fundies trying to get this passed would be outraged. They want to allow the teaching of creationism. I do believe that that is what we call a… double standard.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by James T Kirk on April 9, 2008 at 12:12 am

    I don’t mean to be the one who slams you for being an “Aevil Aetheist evilutionist!!!!!!!” but I shoukld say two things;

    1. I am no fan of the fareness law but Chakra is not part of science class and what the want to do is talk about “Origins science.” A better analogy would be to teach Islamic Creationism.

    2. Once again I am no fan of theocracy or “teach the controversyism”There is actually no phrase that says the church and state should be seperate that was in a letter by Thomas Jefferson to the Danbury Baptist association on January 1, 1802(http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seperation_of_church_and_state. I’m sorry if I am not allowed to post links I simpl want to make sure you don’t think I am pulling this out of thin air) The first amendment to the constitution is prabably outlawing the use of government schools (or any other organization owned b the government or the govenrment itself) to convert people to any particular faith or something like that; it does not necessarily mean we cannot discuss the idea of God creating the universe or life on earth.

    Once again I am not supporting the idea of teaching ideas contrary to evolution I am simply correcting what I saw to be in error.

  2. “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.”

    That’s the first amendment, James. Though it’s not called a separation of church and state per se, that’s where the concept comes from. It is in the constitution, my friend.

    I have no problem with discussing religious ideas… in philosophy or comparative religion classes.

Leave a Reply

