Stupid Chinese Government

 

Alright… So I do owe the Chinese government… If it weren’t for them, they would have let my mum realize her dream of becoming a diplomat, and she wouldn’t have gone to Washington to fulfill the destiny they chose for her of becoming a teacher. If she had had the freedom to choose what she wanted to be, she wouldn’t have met my dad, and my mum wouldn’t have had me and I wouldn’t be here. The Chinese government also gave me an Atheist mum. I am extraordinarily thankful to not have a fundie for a parent (most of my friends do), though her Chinese pride also causes her to believe that acupuncture works just because it’s old (bloodletting is also an old practice, eh).

 

So I owe my existence and Atheist mum to the Chinese government… of course, I ultimately owe my existence to virtually anything you can think of, I suppose.

 

But because of the Chinese government, I am unable to access my blog from here in China for my two week vacation. They have some weird kind of firewall that blocks foreign news sources and blogs. My mum’s explanation was that foreign news sources can’t see the story from all sides (?) and are biased.

 

So, she basically confirmed that they’re afraid of Chinese people reading stuff that badmouths them, and that’s why they’ve blocked all the blogging websites and foreign news sources. So how is it that I’m badmouthing them on my blog when it’s blocked from China?

 

The answer is, I’m not. I’m e-mailing this post to Homo economicus as soon as I’m done typing it up, and he’s going to post it for me (and maybe he can add the scarlet A letter while he’s at it since I’m too naive to figure it out on my own, hint hint). Haha. I feel good about circumventing the system…

 

At least I think that they’re not totalitarian enough to find out that I’m doing it and arrest me… But, I honestly am not afraid of that. If I can be arrested for being censored, than it’s something worth standing up against. But don’t worry, it’s not going to happen to me.

 

I just want to say that though the Chinese government hasn’t been all bad to me (though I owe my existence to them because they limited my mum’s freedom, though she doesn’t feel that way), if they had nothing to hide (they do have something to hide), all this inconvenience and censorship would not have been necessary. So, I’ll chalk this up as my first experience of actual totalitarianism, add a few dozen points to the Chinese government on the scale of evil, and go back to helping my grandmother move out of her apartment here on Hua Hai road.

9 responses to this post.

  1. “But don’t worry, it’s not going to happen to me.”

    If the Chinese government allowed its execution victims’ graves to be marked, I would etch this on your tombstone.

  2. very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader

  3. No doubt the mighty China is soon and fast realizing the reality of ‘expression’ for expansion happens that way; and of ‘suppression’ for that suffocates them.

  4. […] will not be able to blog directly – wordpress is one of many sites that are blocked. One blogger, Splendidelles, got around that by e mailing the blog she wanted to send from China to me. To console yourself you […]

  5. Posted by sqr on July 16, 2009 at 7:14 am

    yea they got the Great Firewall of China
    and its even worse now
    have to use vpn tools to post stuff like this

  6. Posted by gygy on February 2, 2010 at 11:04 am

    Freedom is needed in China for sure. First Information should be disclosed.

  7. I agree with you. I feel such government is absolutely stupid!!! It wastes me lots of time as I’m search information. A lot of useful informations are not accessible in China, like Wikipedia images and Youtude.com which include many lecture from good universities. I concern what kind of knowledge are Chinese students learning everyday? Do they understand what they have been taught? Do they realize that they can’t even access this knowledge?!? !?!?!………

    So, sadly, I agree with you!

  8. Too much stupid things,,, banning, banning, hiding, hiding, but I am sure that nobody can stop the progress of the heart of the people and the development of the more and more society and minds. Sooner of later, it is done!

  9. Posted by samuel welsh on October 30, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    nuke em all

Leave a Reply

