Tragedy and Conspiracy

I just don’t get it. How is it that with every tragedy that occurs some conspiracy nut is lurking in the shadows, ready to spring from them and shift the blame as far away from the actual cause as possible? It happens so often that perhaps there’s alien or government involvement here? Or perhaps not.

Here’s my theory on conspiracy theories… Sometimes it is just a deluded/gullible person who wants to feel smart about themselves, so they gather a bunch of circumstantial “evidence” and speculations, take advantage of people who already mistrust authority (not that it’s a bad thing to mistrust authority, but an authority who tells you to mistrust a specific authority is probably not trustworthy either), and voila! Blame is shifted, and the government did it.

Or maybe sometimes they just have a motive to discredit somebody. 9/11 deniers often ask me if I’m a Republican (I’m not) as soon as I start arguing against them. My theory is they just waste all their time pouring over out of context quotes because they want to discredit Bush (as if he needed further discrediting).

Today, I had the displeasure of stumbling upon the following articles on the internet:

http://www.denverpost.com/ci_7691068
http://www.uncommondescent.com/philosophy/2889/

First of all, note that Uncommon Descent seems to be basing its case against Richard Dawkins and Daniel Dennett (I really need to get around to reading one of his books) based on that single sentence: “All I want to do is kill and injure as many of you … as I can especially Christians who are to blame for most of the problems in the world.

Has this guy read a single book by Richard Dawkins or Dan Dennett? Furthermore, has he read the entire rant? For your convenience, I’m posting the rest of it here.

“Well all you people out there can just kiss my ass and die. From now on I don’t give a @#%$ about what all you mutha fuckers have to say, unless I respect you which is highly unlikely, but for those of you who do happen to know me and know that I respect you, may peace be with you and don’t be in my line of fire, for the rest of you, you all better @#%$ hide in your houses because I’m coming for EVERYONE soon, and I WILL be armed to the @#%$ teeth, and I WILL shoot to kill and I WILL @#%$ KILL EVERYTHING! No I am not crazy, crazy is just a word, to me it has no meaning, everyone is different, but most of you @#%$ heads out there in society, going to your everyday @#%$ jobs and doing your everyday routine shitty things, I say @#%$ you and die, if you got a problem with my thoughts, come to me and I’ll kill you, because……..God damnit, DEAD PEOPLE DON’T ARGUE! My belief is that if I say something, it goes. I am the law. If you don’t like it, you die. If I don’t like you or I don’t like what you want me to do, then you die. If I do something incorrect, oh @#%$ well, you die. Dead people can’t do many things, like argue, whine, @#%$, complain, name, rat out, criticize, or even @#%$ talk. So that’s the only way to solve arguments with all you fuckheads out there, I just kill. God I can’t wait till I can kill you people, I’ll just go to some downtown area in some big city and blow up and shoot everything I can.

You break my back but you won’t break me…..all is black but I still see…shut me down, knock me to the floor…..shoot me up, @#%$ me like a whore….trapped under ice, comfortably cold, I’ve gone as low as you can go….. feel no remorse, no sorrow or shame……time’s gonna wash away all pain I made a God out of blood not superiority I killed the king of deceit and now I sleep in anarchy”

His tone reminds me so much of Dawkins’ eloquent, intelligent prose! But wait… did he mention Christianity causing most of the problems in the world further in his rant? Er… Um… No.

The fact of the matter is, like most shooters (Columbine, Virginia Tech) he was mad at society, and his hate was not directed at Christians alone. And even if he were, for cryin’ out loud, Dawkins and Dennett aren’t the only people pissed at Christianity. It’s not exactly a new trend… their popularity kind of got diminished by the crusades, and people were speaking out against them before that too. Not that I agree that Christianity is to be blamed for all, or even most of the problems in the world. Dawkins himself has said repeatedly that he does not think that religion is the root of all evil, as the accusation came up quite a bit with his documentary (again, I really need to read some of Dennett’s work).

Next, note the first comment on the Denver Post article which blames the left and Moveon.org for filling him with hate. Read the following comments, and I think they do an adequate job of debunking it.

Sometimes people just snap. Sometimes somebody’s at fault. Sometimes somebody’s not. This guy obviously had an abusive past with a deluded fundie mum, but I’m just not going to start blaming fundies for the shooting. I have plenty of other things to be pissed at them for, and those things did not directly result in this shooting. Sometimes, you just have to accept that stuff happens.

For the love of the Flying Spaghetti Monster, when a tragedy like this occurs, how dare they dishonor those lost by shifting the blame elsewhere for their own purposes. When this happens, we are supposed to comfort those who have lost loved ones, share our condolences, and move on. Otherwise, these people need to go away.

Leave a Reply

