This Spam Filter Isn’t Really Working Out For Me

No, it’s not. A few comments have been blocked by it just because they contained links, which really is such a shame because if I start getting real spam and don’t have the time to sort through it all, a lot of lovely comments will be lost forever to cyberspace oblivion. Sorry if this happens to you.

Billy struck again recently, and got caught in the spam filter.

“Hi you’re some nice people out there, you really need to come to Jesus soon, I’m sure you know how to, first repent, you certainly know you have done wrong.
Since when have you been afraid of blood, don’t you watch tv.
You say you do not believe in God, well I mean Jesus, the only true God.
The Bible says only a fool says there is no God, so you do not have any excuse
“Jesus said, The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand; repent ye, and believe the gospel. St. Mark 1:15”.

Apparently it considers trying to convert people over the internet spam… maybe Billy can take a hint? Alright. Yeah. Fine. I did approve it so that would make me a hypocrite for saying that. You’re free to try to convert me whenever you want, s’long as you use arguments of a bit more substance, eh?

As Thrawn would say, “that argument is more circular than a 12-dimensional sphere.”

Er… At least something along the lines of that. Let’s take this comment apart bit by bit, shall we?

“Hi you’re some nice people out there…”

Started out great.

“… you really need to come to Jesus soon..”

Wait… I thought that I was supposed to build weapons of war and tell myself that I am strong so that he could slaughter me… unless by Lord you actually meant Yahweh. I’ll jump ahead for a second here…

You say you do not believe in God, well I mean Jesus, the only true God.”

So which God exactly do you mean? I thought that Christianity was a monotheistic religion… Either way, if Jesus wants me to come to Israel so that he can slaughter me, no thanks. I’m not suicidal, and I enjoy life and chocolate, and cookies, and rainbows, and stuff. Can’t enjoy those things once you’ve been slaughtered.

Back to where we were…

I’m sure you know how to, first repent, you certainly know you have done wrong.”

Maybe by your standards, but I prefer to do things that are moral because they are moral, not because they’re in the Bible. For some reason, it just doesn’t seem right to stone people for having gay sex, or for blasphemy (I have a bit of bias in that regard, being a blasphemer), and I could go on, but I won’t. Let’s see… is there anything besides being a non-believer that I have done wrong?

Hm… I don’t think I’ve killed anybody. I might’ve lied to my parents about grades a few times… But I’ve never stolen, or coveted my neighbor’s wife, ass, ox, etc. Ok, yeah… I’ve said God damn it a few times…

But short of going down the entire ten commandments and everything in the Bible, have I done anything that by today’s moral standards is really all that terrible? Nothing that I can recall.

Since when have you been afraid of blood, don’t you watch tv”

Hell yes, I watch TV. No, I’m not afraid of blood. I’m not obsessed with spilling other people’s blood, though. I live a calm, non-violent life. I like to try to be moral. However, if you tried to kill me, I would defend myself… I don’t know how… but I would. I’d like to try to avoid that, though, so just don’t think about it.

You say you do not believe in God, well I mean Jesus, the only true God.
The Bible says only a fool says there is no God, so you do not have any excuse
“Jesus said, The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand; repent ye, and believe the gospel. St. Mark 1:15”.”

A book called me a fool. I am so offended!

Here’s where the circularity comes in. You are operating under the assumption that since the Bible says it’s telling the truth, it’s telling the truth about telling the truth. I’m also surprised by your assumption that us Atheists would assume that the Bible is telling the truth, as well. If you’re going to convert a non-believer, you’re probably going to want… I don’t know… actual evidence?

I know y’all think that we’re just people who believe in God but deny it because we hate him (look, if God wants to come to my place for tea sometime, I’ d be happy to) but God is just not part of my reality. I don’t believe in God, I believe in the natural order of things. Cause and effect, with causes that aren’t necessarily God. I think that science can explain the occurrences (didn’t know that had two R’s in it) of the world quite nicely, and even if there are gaps, it’s highly illogical to assume that God just did it. I’ve never had a good reason to believe in God that didn’t involve fallacies and circularity.

Anyway, have a nice day Billy, and good look getting the Book of Billy stuck in after Revelation…

2 responses to this post.

  1. I often wonder by what criteria does a person who believes the BiBle to be the inspired “Word of God”, decide what to believe is the “actual” Word of God, and what isn’t

  2. “I contend we are both atheists, I just believe in one fewer god than you do. When you understand why you dismiss all the other possible gods, you will understand why I dismiss yours.” –Stephen F Roberts

Leave a Reply

