I Am Great

Egotistic, yes. But come on… It’s good for my self-esteem. You wouldn’t want to take away my self-esteem, would you? That would be politically incorrect!

But why am I great?

I’m fourteen years old.

It all started… Two weeks ago on a Saturday evening in New York City. I was attending a CFI conference called The Secular Society and Its Enemies which Richard Dawkins, my personal hero, just so happened to be speaking at. He wanted to have dinner with all the students who were group leaders of a CFI-On Campus group so that he could learn more about their activities, and since I just so happen to be a group leader of a CFI-On Campus group, I got the excellent privilege of eating dinner with him and sitting at the same table…

In fact, he wanted my seat so he kicked me out and let me sit across from him…

Anyway, we helped him pick his meal (he got some kind of fish that was served with rice and peas and carrots) and then he toasted us… or did he toast us first and then? Nah… He ordered, then toasted us… Yeah.

So, we were taking turns standing and talking about the activities on our campuses and the challenges we faced…

And I stood up…

And I talked about how I’m starting one at a high school (I was the only high school student there)…

And he took interest somewhat, asked what age range high school was. I said 14-18. He asked me how old I was… and… I said fourteen. I must’ve left an impression, because when I e-mailed him this Monday he said this:

“Oh my, what a truly delightful letter. Splendid (I kind of used the adjective splendid about five times in the letter), even! Thank you so very much for writing it. It is a joy to me that you like Unweaving the Rainbow so much and that it has helped to make you happy.


I think you must have realised how impressed I was, when I learned that you were fourteen. When you stood up to speak to the company about your work at your high school, I assumed that you must be a university undergraduate who had visited old her high school to give them a talk and persuade them to start a secular group. I thought that was a fine thing to do. Then it became clear that you were not a university student at all, but still at your high school. I asked you how old you were, expecting you to say 18, and about to leave for university. When you said FOURTEEN, I was bowled over, and I think I said something to that effect. If you carry on at your present rate, you are certainly going to make your mark in the world. If there is anything I can do to help you, please let me know.”

Now, I don’t mean to brag… but that’s why I’m great.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Szymanowski on December 14, 2007 at 11:53 pm

    Even though you say so yourself ;)… I very much like the quality of writing on this blog and I can see exactly how Dawkins got the impression he did. What an inspiring message, though: “If you carry on at your present rate, you are certainly going to make your mark in the world”.

    Best wishes
    Sz

  2. Posted by The White Girl on April 6, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    You are great.

  3. […] One year ago today I made my first steps out into the blogosphere. […]

Leave a Reply

