Friday, 8th Period

And my anecdote of ignunce for the day…

There’s a girl in my speech and debate class who doesn’t know all the names of everybody, even though we’ve been in school since… August? Something like that.

Because of her, the teacher made us all take a name quiz and… she failed… twice.

Earlier this week, we were doing persuasive speeches so the kids who were going on that day were putting their names on the board in order in which they would go. One kid really wanted to go as close to last as possible, so he moved the name of the girl who couldn’t name everybody in the class up to the top. She noticed, told the teacher, and he was forced to go second.

As he grudgingly made his way to the front of the room she said…

“You spelled my name wrong. I wasn’t about to let you off that easily.”

Yes… so says the girl who can’t name everybody in the class.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Ouch. The punchline hurts.
    But reading this, as an educator, my first thought is that if a person has not learned the names of his or her classmates in a class that seems to involve considerable interaction, I can’t help but think there might be a learning disability. In which case it is sad, but not funny. It also negates the punchline, because the playing field is not level.

    Not that I can judge from 2500 km away, mind. I’m just sayin’.

  2. Oh, believe me. She doesn’t have a learning disability. Just kind of anti-social.

  3. Posted by Relas on May 27, 2008 at 4:44 am

    And you aren’t? Sorry, just had to point that out…

  4. I am aggressively antisocial myself, and can’t remember the names of most of the people I work with, but then, I have no expectations that they should remember my name, much less how to spell it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

