Phil Plait is Wrong!

I didn’t mean it, Phil. I admire you and all but…

While poking around the intertoobs a few days ago, I found a remarkable blog by a young woman. She volunteers at the Denver Museum of Science and Nature, an excellent place where you can learn all about reality (and where “my” black hole show was created).

Sadly, this young woman also sees creationists giving tours and lying about said reality. Her blog post on this subject is truly worth reading. It would be considered well-written and thoughtful by anyone.

So imagine my surprise when I found out, coincidentally just now, that she’s only 14.

Fourteen! Amazing. I foresee a very bright future ahead of this young lady.

Actually, I’m not 14. I just turned 15 in March. Sorry for the confusion. Just had to fix that error.

You’re still awesome, Phil!

14 responses to this post.

  1. Well, never let it be said I am not gracious in error. I’ll correct the post right now!

    And I am truly impressed with what you’ve done. I hope we can meet sometime at DMNS!

  2. Posted by pato2747 on May 13, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    And thanks to the Bad Astronomer, I just found RIGHT before I made my blog about skepticism, someone else beat me to it.

    Aw, well, seems that I’ll remain jealous. ;)

  3. Posted by kevin on May 13, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    I wonder how big a boost you just got in viewership…
    *hastily adds the feed*
    great blog!

  4. Yay! Now that you’re famous, you have to put in a plug for all us little people (though it would help if I updated my own blog more often).

  5. This seems to be the most common response when people find out a literate, intelligent person is still in high school.

    Literate teen heretics. There’s more of us than they think. Bwah.

  6. Posted by Crux Australis on May 14, 2008 at 12:07 am

    I’m not sure which disturbs me more…the video you posted about Creationists touring the museum, or the fact that I’m now in love with a 15 year old.

    **Disclaimer: I am in fact married, and have no past history of anything even slightly deviant in this respect.**

  7. Posted by Crux Australis on May 14, 2008 at 12:07 am

    :-)

  8. Oh, great! Now she’s making fun of popular scientists, joking like one of the boys and getting invited to all the cool parties. I predict she’ll be the first female President of the United States to walk on Mars. Just you wait!

  9. Posted by Christian Treczoks on May 14, 2008 at 7:57 am

    Wow. A literate american teenager. I never though I could put these words into one sentence without a negation.

    Hats off to a lady that could be a beacon of hope for the US.

    You just got a new fan!

    Yours, Christian(*) Treczoks
    *) Name, not faith.

  10. Great blog, I got here via Phil’s post, irrespective of age :-)

    “Time is an illusion. Lunchtime doubly so.”
    Douglas Adams

  11. Hey, Splendid Elles, you are also winning fans at Skepchick (http://skepchick.org/blog/). In fact, I blogged yesterday after being inspired by one of your posts.

    http://skepchick.org/blog/?p=1397

    Hopefully, you’ll get even more traffic coming from Skepchick. Maybe I can get you added to the roll.

  12. Posted by Dusty59 on May 14, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    You are Splendid! saw the note on BA Site… spent a while yesterday looking over some of your posts. Very insightful and humorous. What a great thing!

  13. Posted by Dusty59 on May 14, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    BTW- loved the “Specie” comment down below: “…both scientific and grammatical ignorance.” what a hoot! It keeps the stoopid from burning so bad!

  14. Posted by teacherninja on May 22, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    You are my hero!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

